How to maintain a good balance and environment in the aquarium. How do I do it?

How do I do it?

First of all I’ve tried it all! What ever they’ve said is a good thing to do on YouTube or fishkeeping gurus, I’ve done it.

So why is my conclusion after all of this different ways of keeping aquarium fish?

Simple answer? It depends on how much the aquarium is stocked, on how often I do a water change per month. Let me explain.

If I have a heavy stocked tank I do a water change once a week or once every other week. If the fish is large cichlids that makes a mess and have a lot of waste, I change the water with 25% once every week.

In general, most of my aquariums are not healthy stocked. I’ve got a pair of Apistogramma and a school of 6-10 Corydoras in my 54 liters (15gl) aquariums. On these tanks a do a water change once every month. That way it keeps the water consistency much better and I get more spawning. I do, however, rinse the sponges once every other week in order to keep the filtration at its best performance.

It’s not the water you have to be worried about when it comes to water pollution. It’s the filtration that’s the problem. If it can’t do it’s job properly, you will get polluted water. If you do a water change the filtration will still be bad and give you a polluted aquarium. Be more hands on, on the filtration you have then the water changes. Too much water changes is more damaging to you fish then not to do it so often. And even more dangerous, is not to rinse your filtration more often then you use to do it. Keep that in mind. And if you’re looking for more spawns in your tanks, do less water changes. Once a month is all you need if you don’t have to large and a lot of cichlids in your tank. But, when I had Jaguar cichlids, I kept a pair in a tank with three Bristle-nose plecos and I did a water change once every other week. I didn’t need to more and I got great results. I had fry all the time. I also kept them at 28 degrees Celsius which triggered the male to spawn.

What also helps to keep the water changes to a minimum is how much you feed the fish. Don’t over do it! Feed just as much as they eat. You learn to do it just the right amount if you slowly fed your fish while watching them eat. When they stop looking for food it’s enough. And when it comes to fish like Oscars, you stop when everyone has had a bite. Better to make two small feedings a day then one large one. That will keep the water parameters more leveled as well.

I looked over my filtration once every other week and I do a water change once a month. Since I’ve started doing that, I have not had one death in any of my tanks. That says a lot does it not?

Less maintenance is less impact on the environment and more healthy for your fish! Remember that! Less work, less stress, both for you, and for your fish.

As always thank you so much for you support and REMEMBER to LIKE and SUBSCRIBE!

Cheers!

Leave a comment